Our staff

Awhina Henry

Awhina Henry (Ngāti Porou and Te Whānau ā Apanui) is a Pouako Kaihāpai Hapori (Community Education Worker) in the Pou Whirinaki team. Awhina delivers legal education to our kura kaupapa, kaumātua, alternative education centres, and other wāhi Māori.

Email: awhi@wclc.org.nz

Ben Drury

Ben is one of the Kairuruku Kaitūao (Volunteer Coordinators). They work part-time supporting our volunteers who provide legal services to the community. Primarily, they look after the Student Right Service in conjunction with WCJP which offers information about rights at school and kura across Aotearoa. Alongside working at CLWHV, they are completing their Bachelor of Law and History at VUW. Ben uses they/them pronouns. Details on applying to volunteer can be found here.

Claire Downey

Claire (she/her) (Ngāti Kahungunu) is the Sales & Sponsorship Coordinator for the Publications team and is also completing her Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Arts in English Literature and Art History at Te Herenga Waka. Claire works on marketing and distributing our publications, and securing purchases and sponsorships, especially for our flagship resource, the Community Law Manual. At the core of Claire’s work is liaising with law firms and community organisations across the motu to get the Manual to those who need it. To kōrero about sponsoring a Manual, get in touch with Claire. Email: claire@wclc.org.nz

Dhilum Nightingale

Dhilum is a Rōia Hapori – Community Lawyer on our RILAS team with a particular interest in immigration, privacy, employment, resource management, and local government.  She volunteers at Citizens Advice Bureau and has three tamariki.  Dhilum assists migrant survivors of domestic violence with visa applications and appeals to the Immigration & Protection Tribunal. Dhilum also works on migrant exploitation work in the employment space.

Email: dhilum@wclc.org.nz

 

Esther Gedye Taylor

Esther is the Kairuruku Paremata Whakahaumanu (Restorative Justice Coordinator) for the Wellington court. You can reach her on 022 123 6065 or esther@wclc.org.nz

Jack Liang

Jack (she/they) is a Kaituhi Rauemi (Legal Resource Writer). She does research and writing for the Community Law Manual, our flagship plain English legal guide to your rights in Aotearoa New Zealand. They have an academic background in law, philosophy, and social policy and an ongoing passion for writing that is easy to read. Jack is always keen for your feedback on the CLM – get in touch at jack@wclc.org.nz

Kate Scarlet

Kate (she/her) is Co-General Manager of Community Law Wellington & Hutt Valley & Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika. She primarily works in the Employment, Human Rights, and Privacy portfolios, with expertise in transgender law.
Email: kate@wclc.org.nz

Laura Drew

Laura is one of our two Rōia Hapori Kāinga/ Housing Community Lawyers. Laura provides legal advice and advocacy to clients on housing and tenancy matters.

Email: laura@wclc.org.nz

Louise Lin

Louise is one of our Kairuruku Kaitūao/Volunteer Coordinators. She is a Cultural Anthropology graduate from VUW and has experience working with different community organisations. Details on applying to volunteer can be found here.

E-mail: louise@wclc.org.nz

Maximillian Scott-Murray

Maximillian Scott-Murray (Ngāpuhi, Ngati Awa) is Co-General Manager of Community Law Wellington & Hutt Valley. Max previously held the role of Restorative Justice Services Manager, responsible for delivering criminal restorative justice services for the Wellington region. Max is an active Restorative Justice Facilitator.

Email: maximillian@wclc.org.nz

Megan Williams

Megan is a Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika who supervises general legal services and the Refugee and Immigration Advice Service. Megan has a background in Human Rights law and also previously worked on the negotiation and settlement of several historical Treaty of Waitangi claims.

Email: megan@wclc.org.nz

Michael Freeman

Michael is the Kairuruku Paremata Whakahaumanu (Restorative Justice Coordinator) for Wellington District Court. You can read more about RJ here, and conflict resolution services here.

Email: michael.freeman@wclc.org.nz

Naomi Taylor

Naomi (Ngāti Kahungunu ki Te Wairoa) is the Restorative Justice Services manager.  She is responsible for delivering criminal restorative justice services in the Wellington region. You can read more about our RJ services here.

Naomi was previously one of the volunteer coordinators at Community Law.  Other past roles include Rangatahi Coordinator at Kahungunu Whānau Services and kaitakawaenga at the Human Rights Commission, where she focused on indigenous rights, Te Tiriti and positive race relations in NZ.

Email: naomi@wclc.org.nz

Olive Grant

Olive is the Kaiārahi Project Coordinator. She is responsible for providing legal education to community groups, coordinating outreach clinics, and managing CL’s pro bono relationship with law firms.  Olive has a background working in social welfare policy. They also teach pottery.

Email: olive@wclc.org.nz

Queenie Scott-Murray

Queenie Scott-Murray (NgāPuhi, Ngāti Awa) is a Kaihāpai Hapori (Community Advocate) in the Pou Whirinaki Team. You can read more about our Pou Whirinaki team here

Email: Queenie@wclc.org.nz

Rachael Wright

Rachael is our Kaihautū Whakahaere/Operations Manager. She is a Law/Gender Studies graduate from Victoria, and has been volunteering with Community Law since 2016. She previously worked as one of our Volunteer Co-ordinators and has a background of community activism. Rachael is passionate about ensuring equitable access to justice for all.

Email:  rachael@wclc.org.nz

Rebecca Jones-Long

Rebecca is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori works on our RILAS team. Rebecca primarily focuses on preparing Visa applications for migrant women who are experiencing domestic violence.

Email: Rebecca@wclc.org.nz

Stacey O’Neill

Stacey is from Ngā Puhi and is a Rōia Hapori (Community Lawyer) in the Pou Whirinaki (Services to Māori) team. She gives advice on legal matters in the office and at outreach clinics throughout the Wellington region. Stacey has come to CLWHV from the Community Law Marlborough, where she has done similar work. She also sits on the executive for Ngā Kaiāwhina Hapori Māori o te Ture, the national Māori caucus for the Community Law movement.

Email: stacey@wclc.org.nz

Te Irirangi Stevens

Te Irirangi (Ngati Porou, Tūwharetoa) is the Kaitiaki o te Whare Mahi o Te Awa Kairangi, in charge of oversight at our Lower Hutt office. She also coordinates our community education programme, including community advocacy training and the REP.

email: TeIrirangi@wclc.org.nz

Tiana Frittelli

Tiana (she/her) is a Rōia Hapori / Community Lawyer based mainly in our Pōneke office. Tiana provides legal advice at our drop-in sessions and community outreach clinics. Tiana works within the general rōia / legal team to provide ongoing support to clients on a range of general legal issues. Tiana has a particular interest in employment law, and is passionate about supporting clients who encounter domestic or sexual violence.

Email: tiana@wclc.org.nz

Tina Walker-Ferguson

Tina (Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Porou, Kāi Tahu) is our Kaiwhakahaere Tānga – Publications Director. Tina project manages many of our written resources, including our flagship publication, the Community Law Manual.  She is an artist with an academic background in Cultural Anthropology and Media Studies, and work history in advocacy, social development, refugee & migrant support, and youth empowerment. Drop Tina a line for any questions and kōrero about the CLM or any of our other resources.

Email: tina@wclc.org.nz

 

Vasudha Gautam

Vasudha is the Administrator / Kaiwhakahaere for Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service. She also works as a volunteer community mentor and has experience in advocacy for family violence and family budgeting services.

Email: vasudha@wclc.org.nz.

Vladimir Samoylov 

Vlad is a Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori Matua and the Kaihautū of Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service (RILAS). He oversees our RILAS team, provides legal advice at the RILAS sessions open to the public, and works on ongoing cases assisting with the family reunification efforts of refugees.

Email: vlad@wclc.org.nz