Our staff

Alex Bengree

Alex (Ngāti Porou) is a Kaiārahi – Project Coordinator overseeing our relationships with community groups, law firms, and volunteers. She is a law student with a background in community engagement and youth development. If you’re from a community organisation, please feel free to ask her about how we can help you.
Email: alex@wclc.org.nz

Alice Robinson

Alice is our new Kairuruku Paremata Whakahaumanu – Restorative Justice Coordinator for Hutt Valley and Porirua District Courts. She has a Bachelor of Science and Laws, a background in education advocacy, and is completing a Graduate Certificate in Restorative Justice Practice. You can read more about RJ here.

Email: alice@wclc.org.nz

Awhina Henry

Awhina Henry (Ngāti Porou and Te Whānau ā Apanui) is a Pouako Kaihāpai Hapori (Community Education Worker) in the Pou Whirinaki team. Awhina delivers legal education to our kura kaupapa, kaumātua, alternative education centres, and other wāhi Māori.

Email: awhi@wclc.org.nz

Bex Jones-Long

Bex is our Housing Service Intern and Administrator / Kaiwhakahaere. Bex was integral to the establishment of the Housing Advice and Advocacy Service in Te Awa Kairangi. Bex provides administrative support for the service and works alongside our Housing Community Lawyer to provide legal advocacy and legal research for clients with housing and tenancy matters.

Email: rebecca@wclc.org.nz

Charlotte Hoggard

Charlotte joined Community Law in November 2019. Her role involves writing and updating the annual Community Law Manual. She has a background as a litigation lawyer and over many years has worked in the public sector, in private practice and for a trade union. She welcomes feedback on what you would like to see covered in the Manual.

Email: charlotte@wclc.org.nz

Dhilum Nightingale

Dhilum is a Rōia Hapori – Community Lawyer on our RILAS team with a particular interest in immigration, privacy, employment, resource management, and local government.  She volunteers at Citizens Advice Bureau and has three tamariki.  Dhilum assists migrant survivors of domestic violence with visa applications and appeals to the Immigration & Protection Tribunal.

Email: dhilum@wclc.org.nz

 

Duncan Allan

Duncan is a Kaituhi Rauemi Ture – Legal Resource Writer, who has recently returned to Community Law to work on updating Lag Law: Your Rights in Prison & on Release. Duncan worked on the first edition of Lag Law, and also worked with us as a Restorative Justice Facilitator.

Email: duncan@wclc.org.nz

 

Ella Cartwright

Ella Cartwright (Ngāpuhi) is our Kairuruku Whakahaere – Operations Coordinator. Ella provides support to the General Manager and oversees finances, HR, policy, publicity, bicultural strategy, and admin for the organisation.

Email: ella@wclc.org.nz

Ione Gill

Ione is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori. Ione is involved in a range of general legal issues and has particular interest in youth law, tenancy and welfare. Ione advises on the tenancy advice session in Wellington and supports the Housing Advice and Advocacy Service in Te Awa Kairangi.

Email: ione@wclc.org.nz

Jack Liang

Jack is a Publications Administrative Assistant/Kaitautoko Kaimahi Tānga. Jack works marketing and receiving sponsorships for the Community Law Manual (CLM), distributing publications across Aotearoa and administration. Jack is completing her bachelors of law, philosophy and social policy at Te Herenga Waka and is looking forward to working with community groups and law firms in Pōneke to get the CLM out to those who need it. To kōrero about sponsoring a CLM.

Email: jack@wclc.org.nz

Kate Scarlet

Kate is a Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika. She primarily works in the Employment, Human Rights, and Privacy portfolios, with expertise in transgender law.
Email: kate@wclc.org.nz

Machrus Siregar

Machrus is our Housing Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori Kainga. Machrus is a kaimahi in our Housing Advice and Advocacy Service in Te Awa Kairangi. He provides legal advice and advocacy to clients on housing and tenancy matters.

Email: machrus@wclc.org.nz

Marcus Pawson

Marcus is our Legal Resource Writer / Kaituhi Rauemi Ture. He has a background in legal writing, and writes and edits many of our resources, particularly the Community Law Manual.. Marcus is always glad to get feedback about the Manual from readers, including if it didn’t have the legal information they were looking for, or if they have other ideas on how to improve the Manual.

Email: marcus@wclc.org.nz

Maximillian Scott-Murray

Maximillian Scott-Murray (Ngāpuhi) is the Restorative Justice Services Manager, responsible for delivering criminal restorative justice services for the Wellington region. He is also the Coordinator of Kōrero Tahi, a pilot scheme trialling the use of restorative circles in situations of elder abuse, harm, and neglect. Max is an active Restorative Justice Facilitator.

Email: maximillian@wclc.org.nz

Megan Williams

Megan is a Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika who supervises general legal services and the Refugee and Immigration Advice Service. Megan has a background in Human Rights law and also previously worked on the negotiation and settlement of several historical Treaty of Waitangi claims.

Email: megan@wclc.org.nz

Michael Chaplin

Mike is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori based mainly in the Te Awa Kairangi office. Mike has previously worked closely with our Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service and is now involved in a range of general law issues as well as providing legal advice at our community outreach clinics.

Email: mike@wclc.org.nz

Naomi Taylor

Naomi is a Volunteer Coordinator / Kairuruku Kaitūao. Naomi hails from the Human Rights Commission, where she focused on indigenous rights, positive race relations in NZ, facilitation and training delivery. She also has volunteer coordination experience as Rangatahi Coordinator at Ngāti Kahungunu ki Poneke Community Services.

Email: naomi@wclc.org.nz

Phoenix Hepi 

Phoenix (Ngāpuhi, Tūwharetoa) is the Kaitiaki o te Whare Mahi o Te Awa Kairangi, in charge of oversight at our Lower Hutt office. She also coordinates our community education programme, including community advocacy training and the REP. Phoenix has a background in social services & the education sectors.

Email: phoenix@wclc.org.nz

Rachael Wright

Rachael is a Kairuruku Kaitūao/Volunteer Co-Ordinator. She is a Law/Gender Studies graduate from Victoria, and has been volunteering with Community Law since 2016. She has experience in feminist organisations and community groups and is passionate about ensuring equitable access to justice for all. Details on applying to volunteer can be found here, and volunteers can contact her on 04 460 4462.

Email:  rachael@wclc.org.nz

Rob O’Brien

Rob is a Kaiārahi / Project Coordinator working specifically in alcohol licensing. Rob supports communities in the Wellington and Hutt Valley to navigate new licence and renewal processes, from initially objecting to participating in decision making hearings.

Email:  rob@wclc.org.nz

Sarah Croskery-Hewitt

Sarah is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori with a particular interest in social welfare law, tenancy and family violence. Sarah primarily focuses on preparing Visa applications for migrant women whose relationships have ended due to domestic violence.

Email: sarah@wclc.org.nz

Stacey O’Neill

Stacey is from Ngā Puhi and is a Rōia Hapori (Community Lawyer) in the Pou Whirinaki (Services to Māori) team. She gives advice on legal matters in the office and at outreach clinics throughout the Wellington region. Stacey has come to CLWHV from the Community Law Marlborough, where she has done similar work. She also sits on the executive for Ngā Kaiāwhina Hapori Māori o te Ture, the national Māori caucus for the Community Law movement.

Email: stacey@wclc.org.nz

Stephen Parry

Stephen joined Community Law in January 2020 as a Senior Lawyer / Rōia Hapori. He has several years’ experience as a trade union lawyer in Tāmaki Makaurau / Auckland, and before that as a family and criminal litigator in Te Whanganui-a-Tara / Wellington.

Email: stephen@wclc.org.nz

Teresa Edge

Teresa is the Kairuruku Whakahaumanu Paremata (Restorative Justice Coordinator) for the Wellington District Court. She also coordinates the provision of restorative processes for community conflicts and cases of elder harm. You can read more about RJ here, and conflict resolution services here.

Email: teresa@wclc.org.nz

Tina Walker-Ferguson

Tina (Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Porou, Kāi Tahu) is our Kaiwhakahaere Tānga – Publications Director. Tina project manages many of our written resources, including our flagship publication, the Community Law Manual.  She is an artist with an academic background in Cultural Anthropology and Media Studies, and work history in advocacy, social development, refugee & migrant support, and youth empowerment. For questions and kōrero about the CLM or any of our other resources.

Email: tina@wclc.org.nz

 

Vasudha Gautam

Vasudha is the Administrator / Kaiwhakahaere for Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service. She also works as a volunteer community mentor and has experience in advocacy for family violence and family budgeting services.

Email: vasudha@wclc.org.nz.

Vladimir Samoylov 

Vlad is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori working for the Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service. He provides legal advice at the RILAS sessions open to the public, and works on ongoing cases assisting with the family reunification efforts of refugees.

Email: vlad@wclc.org.nz