Our staff

Alex Bengree

Alex (Ngāti Porou) is our Kaiārahi – Project Coordinator overseeing our relationships with community groups, law firms, and volunteers. She is a law student with a background in community engagement and youth development. If you’re from a community organisation, please feel free to ask her about how we can help you.
Email: alex@wclc.org.nz

Awhina Henry

Awhina Henry (Ngāti Porou and Te Whānau ā Apanui) is a Pouako Kaihāpai Hapori (Community Education Worker) in the Pou Whirinaki team. Awhina delivers legal education to our kura kaupapa, kaumātua, alternative education centres, and other wāhi Māori. Email: awhi@wclc.org.nz

Ella Cartwright

Ella Cartwright (Ngāpuhi) is our Kairuruku Whakahaere – Operations Coordinator. Ella provides support to the General Manager and oversees finances, HR, policy, publicity, bicultural strategy, and admin for the organisation. Email: ella@wclc.org.nz

Emma White

Emma is the Volunteer Coordinator / Kairuruku Kaitūao. Details on applying to volunteer can be found here. Emma’s worked for 3+ years in our Restorative Justice team and still facilitates restorative justice meetings. Emma has experience in feminist organisations particularly working around sexual and domestic violence intervention. Volunteers can call Emma on 04 460 4462.
Email: emma@wclc.org.nz

Ione Gill

Ione is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori. Ione is involved in a range of general legal issues and has particular interest in family law, mental health, and welfare. Ione was previously an education worker, and helps deliver legal education to the community.
Email: ione@wclc.org.nz

Kate Scarlet

Kate is a Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika. She primarily works in the Employment, Human Rights, and Privacy portfolios, with expertise in transgender law.
Email: kate@wclc.org.nz

Krissi Smith

Krissi is our Publications Director / Kaiwhakahaere Tānga. She has a background in writing, editing and te reo Māori. She project manages many of our written resources, including the Community Law Manual. Krissi is always excited to get feedback about the Manual from readers, especially about information we might need to change, add or remove, or about how we can make the Manual more accessible.
Email: krissi@wclc.org.nz

Mahala Pinchen

Mahala is our publications administrator and spends most of her time working on the annual release of the Community Law Manual. If you are interested in purchasing or sponsoring the Community Law Manual or any of our other legal resources for yourself or an organisation, get in touch at mahala@wclc.org.nz

Manda Grubner

Manda is the General Manager / Kaiwhakahaere Matua of Community Law Wellington and Hutt Valley. She has overall responsibility for the day to day operations of the Law Centre across both Wellington and Hutt Valley offices.
Email: manda@wclc.org.nz

Marcus Pawson

Marcus is our Legal Resource Writer / Kaituhi Rauemi Ture. He has a background in legal writing, and writes and edits many of our resources, particularly the Community Law Manual.. Marcus is always glad to get feedback about the Manual from readers, including if it didn’t have the legal information they were looking for, or if they have other ideas on how to improve the Manual.
Email: marcus@wclc.org.nz

Maximillian Scott-Murray

Maximillian Scott-Murray (Ngāpuhi) is the Restorative Justice Services Manager, responsible for delivering criminal restorative justice services for the Wellington region and Coordinator of Kōrero Tahi, a pilot scheme trialing the use of restorative circles in situations of elder abuse, harm and neglect. Max is also an active Restorative Justice Facilitator. maximillian@wclc.org.nz

Megan Williams

Megan is a Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika who supervises general legal services and the Refugee and Immigration Advice Service. Megan has a background in Human Rights law and also previously worked on the negotiation and settlement of several historical Treaty of Waitangi claims.
Email: megan@wclc.org.nz

Michael Chaplin

Mike is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori based mainly in the Te Awa Kairangi office. Mike has previously worked closely with our Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service and is now involved in a range of general law issues as well as providing legal advice at our community outreach clinics.
Email: mike@wclc.org.nz

Miranda Dunn

Miranda is a Volunteer Coordinator/Kairuruku Kaitūao. She is a law graduate with a long history of volunteering within Community Law – most recently with our Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service  team. Email: miranda@wclc.org.nz

Nadine Hura

Nadine is a researcher and writer of Ngāti Hine, Ngāpuhi and Pākehā whakapapa. She is the Communications Coordinator | Kairukuruku Kōrero and editor of the Community Lore Blog. Please contact nadine@wclc.org.nz, all submissions welcome!

Naomi Taylor

Naomi is a Volunteer Coordinator / Kairuruku Kaitūao. Naomi hails from the Human Rights Commission, where she focused on indigenous rights, positive race relations in NZ, facilitation and training delivery. She also has volunteer coordination experience as Rangatahi Coordinator at Ngāti Kahungunu ki Poneke Community Services.
Email: naomi@wclc.org.nz

Phoenix Hepi 

Phoenix (Ngāpuhi me Tūwharetoa) is the Restorative Justice Coordinator / Kairuruku Paremata Whakahaumanu for the Hutt Valley & Porirua District Courts. She has a background in the Social Services & Education Sectors. Read more about restorative justice here. Email: phoenix@wclc.org.nz

Rosie Jimson-Healey

Rosie is the Community Education Coordinator and Kaitiaki of Te Awa Kairangi Office. Rosie also coordinates the REP: the Rights Education Project. She has experience in human rights advocacy including women’s rights and queer rights, and works in the LGBTIQ portfolio.
Email: rosie@wclc.org.nz

Sarah Croskery-Hewitt

Sarah is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori with a particular interest in social welfare law, tenancy and family violence. Sarah primarily focuses on preparing Visa applications for migrant women whose relationships have ended due to domestic violence.
Email: sarah@wclc.org.nz

Stacey O’Neill

Stacey is from Ngā Puhi and is a Rōia Hapori (Community Lawyer) in the Pou Whirinaki (Services to Māori) team. She gives advice on legal matters in the office and at outreach clinics throughout the Wellington region. Stacey has come to CLWHV from the Community Law Marlborough, where she has done similar work. She also sits on the executive for Ngā Kaiāwhina Hapori Māori o te Ture, the national Māori caucus for the Community Law movement.
Email: stacey@wclc.org.nz

Tāneora Ryall

Tāneora is from Ngāti Raukawa and works as Kaihāpai Pouako Hapori in the Pou Whirinaki team. He specialises in running education workshops for rangatahi on a number of legal rights topics. Tāneora has a background in NZ/Māori history and can kōrero and deliver workshops in te reo Māori. Email: taneora@wclc.org.nz

Teresa Edge

Teresa is the Kairuruku Whakahaumanu Paremata (Restorative Justice Coordinator) for the Wellington District Court. She also coordinates the provision of restorative processes for community conflicts and cases of elder harm. You can read more about RJ here, and conflict resolution services here.
Email: teresa@wclc.org.nz

Vasudha Gautam

Vasudha is the Administrator / Kaiwhakahaere for Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service and Restorative Justice. She also works as a volunteer community mentor and has experience in advocacy for family violence and family budgeting services. Email: vasudha@wclc.org.nz.

Vladimir Samoylov 

Vladimir is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori working for the Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service. He provides legal advice at the RILAS sessions open to the public and works on ongoing cases assisting with the family reunification efforts of refugees.
Email: vlad@wclc.org.nz