Our staff

Alex Bengree

Alex is our Kaiārahi – Project Coordinator based in the Te Awa Kairangi office. Alex works part-time and supports staff, volunteers, interns, groups and individuals who share our space.
Email: alex@wclc.org.nz

Anna Minogue

Anna is the Restorative Justice Coordinator in Wellington / Paremata Whakahaumanu – Whanganui-a-tara. Read more about restorative justice here.
Email: anna@wclc.org.nz

Dale Anderson

Dale Anderson (Ngāti Ruanui) joins the Restorative Justice team with over five years experience as a facilitator and more than 14 years as a social worker. Dale specialises in the field of family violence, drawing on professional knowledge and expertise from her many and varied roles working in the social services sector. You are welcome to contact Dale by email: dale@wclc.org.nz

 

 

Darien Mahony

Darien is a Rōia Hapori / Community Lawyer in the Pou Whirinaki team. Darien is involved in a range of general law issues and has a particular interest in both senior law and providing advice to prisoners. Darien also helps with the delivery of education services to community groups.
Email: darien@wclc.org.nz

Ed Atienza

Ed is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori working for the Refugee and Immigration Advice Service. Ed’s first-hand experience migrating from the Philippines helps him in giving advice at the RILAS free sessions and managing ongoing cases. Before moving to CL, Ed practised Property and Māori land laws. He is a member of the New Zealand Association for Migration and Investment and the New Zealand Law Society Wellington Branch’s Refugee and Immigration Committee.
Email: ed@wclc.org.nz

Ella Cartwright

Ella Cartwright is our Kairuruku Whakahaere – Operations Coordinator. Ella provides support to the General Manager and oversees finances, HR, policy, publicity, and admin for the organisation. Contact Ella if your org would like some of our flyers or posters! Email: ella@wclc.org.nz

Emma White

Emma is the Volunteer Coordinator / Kairuruku Kaitūao. Details on applying to volunteer can be found here. Emma’s worked for 3+ years in our Restorative Justice team and still facilitates restorative justice meetings. Emma has experience in feminist organisations particularly working around sexual and domestic violence intervention. Volunteers can call Emma on 04 460 4462.
Email: emma@wclc.org.nz

Ione Gill

Ione is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori. Ione is involved in a range of general legal issues and has particular interest in family law, mental health and welfare. Ione was previously an education worker, and helps deliver legal education to the community.
Email: ione@wclc.org.nz

Kate Scarlet

Kate is a Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika. She primarily works in the Employment, Human Rights and Privacy portfolios, with expertise in transgender law.
Email: kate@wclc.org.nz

Kiri Harmer

Kiri is a Kaihāpai Hapori/Community Advocate working as part of the Pou Whirinaki (Services to Māori) Team.  Kiri is currently assisting with providing legal services to clients in prison and at community outreach clinics.  Kiri is also the coordinator for legal services to clients at Epuni.  Kiri has a Bachelor of Māori Traditional Arts (Raranga) and a Bachelor of Laws (Otāgo). Please email kiri@wclc.org.nz 

Krissi Smith

Krissi is our Publications Director / Kaiwhakahaere Tānga. She has a background in writing, editing and te reo Māori. She project manages many of our written resources, including the Community Law Manual. Krissi is always excited to get feedback about the Manual from readers, especially about information we might need to change, add or remove, or about how we can make the Manual more accessible.
Email: krissi@wclc.org.nz

Manda Grubner

Manda is the General Manager / Kaiwhakahaere Matua of Community Law Wellington and Hutt Valley. She has overall responsibility for the day to day operations of the Law Centre across both Wellington and Hutt Valley offices.
Email: manda@wclc.org

Marcus Pawson

Marcus is our Legal Resource Writer / Kaituhi Rauemi Ture. He has a background in legal writing, and writes and edits many of our resources, particularly the Community Law Manual.. Marcus is always glad to get feedback about the Manual from readers, including if it didn’t have the legal information they were looking for, or if they have other ideas on how to improve the Manual.
Email: marcus@wclc.org.nz

Maximillian Scott-Murray

Maximillian Scott-Murray (Ngāpuhi) is the Restorative Justice Services Manager, responsible for delivering criminal restorative justice services for the Wellington region and Coordinator of Kōrero Tahi, a pilot scheme trialing the use of restorative circles in situations of elder abuse, harm and neglect. Max is also an active Restorative Justice Facilitator. maximillian@wclc.org.nz

Megan Williams

Megan is a Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika who supervises general legal services and the Refugee and Immigration Advice Service. Megan has a background in Human Rights law and also previously worked on the negotiation and settlement of several historical Treaty of Waitangi claims.
Email: megan@wclc.org.nz

Melissa Price

Melissa is our Kaiwhakahaere – Administrator and is usually the face at the reception desk and the voice over our main phone line! Melissa also coordinates our Restorative Communities project, which provides Conflict Resolution services to groups in the Wellington region. To enquire about Conflict Resolution for your community org or workplace, get in touch at melissa@wclc.org.nz.

Michael Chaplin

Mike is a Junior Community Lawyer / Teina Rōia Hapori based mainly in the Te Awa Kairangi office. Mike has previously worked closely with our Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service and is now involved in a range of general law issues as well as providing legal advice at our community outreach clinics.
Email: mike@wclc.org.nz

Nadine Hura

Nadine is a researcher and writer of Ngāti Hine, Ngāpuhi and Pākehā whakapapa. She is the Communications Coordinator | Kairukuruku Kōrero and editor of the Community Lore Blog. Please contact nadine@wclc.org.nz, all submissions welcome!

Naomi Taylor

Naomi is a Volunteer Coordinator / Kairuruku Kaitūao. Naomi hails from the Human Rights Commission, where she focused on indigenous rights, positive race relations in NZ, facilitation and training delivery. She also has volunteer coordination experience as Rangatahi Coordinator at Ngāti Kahungunu ki Poneke Community Services.
Email: naomi@wclc.org.nz

Phoenix Hepi 

Phoenix (Ngāpuhi mē Tuwharetoa) is the Restorative Justice Coordinator / Kairuruku Paremata Whakahaumanu for the Hutt Valley District Court. She has a background in the Social Services & Education Sectors. Read more about restorative justice here. Email: phoenix@wclc.org.nz

Purcell Salī 

Purcell is the Restorative Justice Coordinator in Porirua / Kairuruku Paremata Whakahaumanu ki Porirua. Read more about restorative justice here.
Email: purcell@wclc.org.nz

Rosie Jimson-Healey

Rosie is the Community Education Coordinator and Kaitiaki of Te Awa Kairangi Office. Rosie also coordinates the REP: the Rights Education Project. She has experience in human rights advocacy including women’s rights and queer rights, and works in the LGBTIQ portfolio.
Email: rosie@wclc.org.nz

Sarah Croskery-Hewitt

Sarah is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori with a particular interest in social welfare law, tenancy and family violence. Sarah also helps coordinate and deliver the legal education program.
Email: sarah@wclc.org.nz

Stacey O’Neill

Stacey is from Ngā Puhi and is a Rōia Hapori (Community Lawyer) in the Pou Whirinaki (Services to Māori) team. She gives advice on legal matters in the office and at outreach clinics throughout the Wellington region. Stacey has come to Wellington Community Law from the Marlborough Community Law Centre where she has done similar work.
Email: stacey@wclc.org.nz

Vasudha Gautam

Vasudha is the Administrator / Kaiwhakahaere for Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service and Restorative Justice. She also works as a volunteer community mentor and has experience in advocacy for family violence and family budgeting services. Email: vasudha@wclc.org.nz.

Vladimir Samoylov 

Vladimir is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori working for the Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service. He provides legal advice at the RILAS sessions open to the public and works on ongoing cases assisting with the family reunification efforts of refugees.
Email: vlad@wclc.org.nz