Our staff

Rebecca is part of the Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service team as a Rōia Hapori (Community Lawyer). Rebecca’s role includes providing advocacy and legal advice to those whose immigration status is affected by domestic violence. Get in touch with her if you need help in this area.

Email: Rebecca@wclc.org.nz

Ainslie Teki

Ainslie (Te Ati Haunui-a-Pāpārangi) works in our Pou Whirinaki team as a Kaihāpai Hapori (Community Advocate). She supports rōia providing services to Māori, and also provides legal education in the community.

Alex Bengree

Alex (Ngāti Porou) is a Kaiārahi – Project Coordinator overseeing our relationships with community groups, law firms, and volunteers. She is a law student with a background in community engagement and youth development. If you’re from a community organisation, please feel free to ask her about how we can help you.
Email: alex@wclc.org.nz

Awhina Henry

Awhina Henry (Ngāti Porou and Te Whānau ā Apanui) is a Pouako Kaihāpai Hapori (Community Education Worker) in the Pou Whirinaki team. Awhina delivers legal education to our kura kaupapa, kaumātua, alternative education centres, and other wāhi Māori.

Email: awhi@wclc.org.nz

Charlotte Hoggard

Charlotte joined Community Law in November 2019. Her role involves writing and updating the annual Community Law Manual. She has a background as a litigation lawyer and over many years has worked in the public sector, in private practice and for a trade union. She welcomes feedback on what you would like to see covered in the Manual.

Email: charlotte@wclc.org.nz

Dhilum Nightingale

Dhilum is a Rōia Hapori – Community Lawyer on our RILAS team with a particular interest in immigration, privacy, employment, resource management, and local government.  She volunteers at Citizens Advice Bureau and has three tamariki.  Dhilum assists migrant survivors of domestic violence with visa applications and appeals to the Immigration & Protection Tribunal. Dhilum also works on migrant exploitation work in the employment space.

Email: dhilum@wclc.org.nz

 

Ella Cartwright

Ella Cartwright (Ngāpuhi) is our Kaihautu Whakahaere – Operations Manager. Ella oversees HR, admin, finances, and policy for the organisation.

Email: ella@wclc.org.nz

Jack Liang

Jack is the Sales & Sponsorship Coordinator for the Publications team. Jack works on marketing and distributing our publications, and securing purchases and sponsorship, especially for our our flagship resource the Community Law Manual. Jack is completing her Bachelor of Laws, Philosophy and Social Policy at Te Herenga Waka and is looking forward to working with community groups and law firms in Pōneke to get the CLM out to those who need it. To kōrero about sponsoring a CLM, get in touch with Jack.

Email: jack@wclc.org.nz

Jessica Cribb (she/they)

Jessica is the Kairuruku Whakahaumanu Paremata (Restorative Justice Coordinator) for Hutt Valley District Court. You can read more about RJ here, and conflict resolution services here.

Email: jessica@wclc.org.nz

Kate Scarlet

Kate is Acting Co-General Manager of Community Law Wellington & Hutt Valley & Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika. She primarily works in the Employment, Human Rights, and Privacy portfolios, with expertise in transgender law.
Email: kate@wclc.org.nz

Machrus Siregar

Machrus is our Housing Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori Kāinga. Machrus is a kaimahi in our Housing Advice and Advocacy Service in Te Awa Kairangi. He provides legal advice and advocacy to clients on housing and tenancy matters.

Email: machrus@wclc.org.nz

Maximillian Scott-Murray

Maximillian Scott-Murray (Ngāpuhi) is Co-General Manager of Community Law Wellington & Hutt Valley. Max previously held the role of Restorative Justice Services Manager, responsible for delivering criminal restorative justice services for the Wellington region. Max is an active Restorative Justice Facilitator.

Email: maximillian@wclc.org.nz

Megan Williams

Megan is a Senior Community Lawyer / Rōia Kahika who supervises general legal services and the Refugee and Immigration Advice Service. Megan has a background in Human Rights law and also previously worked on the negotiation and settlement of several historical Treaty of Waitangi claims.

Email: megan@wclc.org.nz

Michael Chaplin

Mike is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori based mainly in the Te Awa Kairangi office. Mike has previously worked closely with our Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service and is now involved in a range of general law issues as well as providing legal advice at our community outreach clinics.

Email: mike@wclc.org.nz

Michael Freeman

Michael is the Kairuruku Whakahaumanu Paremata (Restorative Justice Coordinator) for Wellington District Court. You can read more about RJ here, and conflict resolution services here.

Email: michael.freeman@wclc.org.nz

Nalin Samountry

Nalin is a Kaituhi Rauemi Ture – Legal Resource Writer, primarily working on writing and updating content for the Community Law Manual. The Manual sets out legal information in an accessible way for everyday users. She welcomes feedback on what legal information you would like to see in the Manual.

email: Nalin@wclc.org.nz

Naomi Taylor

Naomi is a Volunteer Coordinator / Kairuruku Kaitūao. Naomi hails from the Human Rights Commission, where she focused on indigenous rights, positive race relations in NZ, facilitation and training delivery. She also has volunteer coordination experience as Rangatahi Coordinator at Ngāti Kahungunu ki Poneke Community Services.

Email: naomi@wclc.org.nz

Phoenix Hepi 

Phoenix (Ngāpuhi me Tūwharetoa) is the Kaihautu of RJ (Restorative Justice Services Manager) and is responsible for delivering criminal restorative justice services for the Wellington region. Phoenix is an active Restorative Justice Facilitator. Phoenix has a background in Social Work & tertiary education.

Email: phoenix@wclc.org.nz

Rachael Wright

Rachael is a Kairuruku Kaitūao/Volunteer Co-Ordinator. She is a Law/Gender Studies graduate from Victoria, and has been volunteering with Community Law since 2016. She has experience in feminist organisations and community groups and is passionate about ensuring equitable access to justice for all. Details on applying to volunteer can be found here, and volunteers can contact her on 04 460 4462.

Email:  rachael@wclc.org.nz

Rebecca Jones-Long

Rebecca is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori works on our RILAS team. Rebecca primarily focuses on preparing Visa applications for migrant women who are experiencing domestic violence.

Email: Rebecca@wclc.org.nz

Renata Lodge

Renata is a Roia Hapori – Community Lawyer on our RILAS team, providing legal help for refugee family reunification. You can contact Renata at:

email: Renata@wclc.org.nz

Rob O’Brien

Rob is a Kaiārahi / Project Coordinator working specifically in alcohol licensing. Rob supports communities in the Wellington and Hutt Valley to navigate new licence and renewal processes, from initially objecting to participating in decision making hearings.

Email:  rob@wclc.org.nz

Stacey O’Neill

Stacey is from Ngā Puhi and is a Rōia Hapori (Community Lawyer) in the Pou Whirinaki (Services to Māori) team. She gives advice on legal matters in the office and at outreach clinics throughout the Wellington region. Stacey has come to CLWHV from the Community Law Marlborough, where she has done similar work. She also sits on the executive for Ngā Kaiāwhina Hapori Māori o te Ture, the national Māori caucus for the Community Law movement.

Email: stacey@wclc.org.nz

Stephen Parry

Stephen joined Community Law in January 2020 as a Senior Lawyer / Rōia Hapori. He has several years’ experience as a trade union lawyer in Tāmaki Makaurau / Auckland, and before that as a family and criminal litigator in Te Whanganui-a-Tara / Wellington.

Email: stephen@wclc.org.nz

Te Irirangi Stevens

Te Irirangi (Ngati Porou, Tūwharetoa) is the Kaitiaki o te Whare Mahi o Te Awa Kairangi, in charge of oversight at our Lower Hutt office. She also coordinates our community education programme, including community advocacy training and the REP.

email: TeIrirangi@wclc.org.nz

Teresa Edge

Teresa is the Kairuruku Whakahaumanu Paremata (Restorative Justice Coordinator) for Porirua District Court. You can read more about RJ here, and conflict resolution services here.

Email: teresa@wclc.org.nz

Tiana Frittelli

Tiana joined Community Law in December 2020 as a Rōia Hapori / Community Lawyer. Tiana provides legal advice at our drop-in sessions and community outreach clinics, and works with clients on a range of general legal issues.

Tina Walker-Ferguson

Tina (Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Porou, Kāi Tahu) is our Kaiwhakahaere Tānga – Publications Director. Tina project manages many of our written resources, including our flagship publication, the Community Law Manual.  She is an artist with an academic background in Cultural Anthropology and Media Studies, and work history in advocacy, social development, refugee & migrant support, and youth empowerment. Drop Tina a line for any questions and kōrero about the CLM or any of our other resources.

Email: tina@wclc.org.nz

 

Tui Howard

Tūī (Tainui, Ngāti Kuri, Ngāti Kahungunu) is the Kaihāpai Hapori – Community Advocate on Pou Whirinaki, our Services to Māori team. They have a particular focus on issues affecting the queer & takatāpui communities.

Email: Tui@wclc.org.nz

Vasudha Gautam

Vasudha is the Administrator / Kaiwhakahaere for Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service. She also works as a volunteer community mentor and has experience in advocacy for family violence and family budgeting services.

Email: vasudha@wclc.org.nz.

Vladimir Samoylov 

Vlad is a Community Lawyer / Rōia Hapori and the Kaihautu of Refugee and Immigration Legal Advice Service (RILAS). He oversees our RILAS team, provides legal advice at the RILAS sessions open to the public, and works on ongoing cases assisting with the family reunification efforts of refugees.

Email: vlad@wclc.org.nz